top of page
  • Writer's pictureMark O. Estes

MSD’s Horror Tees Diary #1 – Origins

img_6601

It’s taken me a minute to come up with words on why or how I’ve evolved into a horror tee junkie of sorts. I’m no bona fide expert on the “subject,” and I’m sure there’s people out there whose personal horror tee collection would put mine to utter shame. However, what I am unequivocally confident about is my pretty bizarre downward spiral into the world of horror tee collecting, which may sound a bit much, but let’s just say there may be a call for a horror teen junkie intervention of sorts.

All joking aside, my horror t-shirt collection has grown exponentially in the past year. My previous employer paid less, and required a business casual dress code until Fridays, which was where I would rock a graphic tee proudly to work. I had seen tons of shirts featured on several horror blogs; worn by horror commentators, horror fans at conventions, and even the stars of my favorite horror flicks. But I had no idea where they would cop these shirts outside of Hot Topic or Spencer’s. This was when I stumbled across sites like Fright-Rags, Gutter Garbs, Cavity Colors and more, and shit just hit the fan from the moment on.

Once I discovered these sites, and how often they specialized in manhandling horror fans’ wallets, I still had to resolve myself with the income that I had. My local Walmart would sporadically sell a Jason/Freddy tee, but nothing else horror related outside the Halloween season, and even those mostly featured the generic pumpkin/scarecrow designs that were boring as fuck or not rockable outside the horror fan’s Christmas season.

Then I got blessed with a new job. A new job that paid a helluva lot more, and instead of collecting horror figures or something else horror related (although I still do), I ended up with a walk-in closet of horror tees within a small amount of time. It’s become an addiction, one I cannot deny. As if I cared to do so, but anywho…

img_4528

When it comes to my horror tee collecting, I equate it to sneaker-heads and their love of Jordans, Air Force 1s, etc. I follow all the major horror tee sites on Instagram and Twitter to make sure I don’t miss out on any announcements about upcoming releases, and I’m completely OCD when it comes to the care of the shirts. I don’t have any special way to clean the shirts outside of following the care instructions placed on the label of each tee, but I have went as far as buying a portable clothes rack to hang the shirts to air-dry. It’s gotten that serious.

With all that being said, I thought I would start a line of blog posts chronicling my newfound obsession of horror tee collecting, starting with this one. I will later list my top fave tees, my top wishlist of tees, fave vendors, etc. I hope to make these at least once a month, see how popular they become. Other than that, what is your favorite horror tee vendor? How many horror tees do you have? Should we start a Horror Tees Anonymous group?

img_4453
5 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page