top of page
  • Writer's pictureMark O. Estes

MSD Horror Tees Diaries #2 – Catching Up on Horror Tees

When life gets in your way (that is if you let it), things tend to go haywire and jump clear off the proverbial track. That was what happened the last couple of months after my last post, which was ironically the first entry into my Horror Tee Diaries series. Between that time and now, I wrote a piece on the short (but visibly affirmative) history of black gay characters in horror; a generalization piece that I hope to elaborate more on one day. I also wrote another piece on aging, and I tried to rest as much as possible before my job entered peak season. The latter didn’t work out, because I’m dead tired as I type this.

So now here I am! Back with only a few updates about some of the latest graphic tees I’ve acquired, my Instagram 31 Days of Horror Tees Halloween Celebration, and a few more tidbits.

Latest Tees

img_0610

Gutter Garbs thankfully re-released the Roy Burns “Flare” tee from their Masks of Jason line, which I managed to snag. I also completed the series by purchasing the Sack Mask and Part 4 Jason shirts as well. I will be wearing all the shirts leading up to this Friday the 13th. Hopefully Gutter Garbs will do Jason X and Freddy vs. Jason editions to really complete the series.

Speaking of my favorite Dream Demon, a chance shopping excursion at a local Walmart blessed me with this beautiful shirt of Freddy that came with a hoodie with his signature slash marks on it. I have a shitload of Freddy tees already, (and will buy a shitload more if I find them and they are made well), but I know that I have to venture out and acquire more horror tees that don’t only contain the main horror icons. Which leads me to my last acquisition…

img_0707

While browsing Instagram, I noticed that Cursed Cult (@cursed_cult on IG) had this Demons/Demoni tee for sale that I just had to have. Having the iconic Geretta Geretta as Rosemary on my chest has been a pleasure, yet I know many people in my area have no fucking clue on who Rosemary is nor the greatness that is Lamberto Bava’s Demons.

31 Days of Horror Tees on Instagram

During October, I celebrated the most wonderful time of the year by donning a horror tee for each day of the month. I partook in the same celebration last year, and couldn’t wait to turn it into an annual tradition. If you want to take a look at what shirts made it to the 31 Days of Horror Tees, just visit my IG, which is @midnightsocialdistortion

Podcasts

This fall I had the pleasure of being featured on not one, but two great horror podcasts that I am big fans of: Eek Channel/Nite Shift Videos and Syndicated Nightmares.

Eek Channel/Nite Shift Videos – Hosted by James, Cody, and Josh, this horror podcast discusses tons of gems from the genre, both new and old, with other horror fanatics. The duo aren’t just well versed in horror. Their love for film in general elevates their take on certain entries in the genre from a unique and well-informed standpoint. It was a blast to talk with them about our mutual love, as well as recommending that they watch Bava’s Demons immediately. Surprisingly, they did and reviewed it promptly afterwards. After hitting their one year anniversary, the fellas changed their name from Eek Channel to Nite Shift Videos and are incorporating new content soon, so please give them a follow and subscribe ASAP.

Syndicated Nightmares – Syndicated Nightmares is a must listen for anyone who declares themselves a devout FredHead. Co-hosts Dave and Michelle have taken on the task that no other horror podcast (to my knowledge) has done: covering the short-lived run of the A Nightmare on Elm Street TV spinoff, Freddy’s Nightmares. I stepped into the guest host role for the season two episode “Dreams That Kill,” which is Freddy-centric and enjoyed discussing my theories of where Freddy’s Nightmares takes place in the ANOES canon (in my fandom, it’s canon and I will fight that till my soul leaves this damn earth). Michelle and Dave release episodes on Wednesdays, so find a bootleg copy of the series somewhere, watch and then listen to the podcast for it immediately afterwards.

Both podcasts are available on Apple Podcasts, Stitcher, and more.

14 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page